Lourdes and the Pyrenees

In Lourdes

The town of Lourdes is situated in the Hautes-Pyrénées department. Its location makes it an excellent place to explore the charm and beauty of this “high-Pyrenean” region.

The medieval fortified chateau

Without taking a step outside Lourdes, you can explore its medieval history by visiting its fortified chateau built on a rocky promontory, right in the heart of the town that its occupants are proud to boast was never conquered! The building houses a museum of Pyrenean history and culture and, in its grounds, a botanical garden.

The Pic du Jer

In a matter of minutes, the town’s 100-year old funicular railway will carry you to the summit of the Pic du Jer, where you can take in one of the most beautiful panoramas of the Pyrenees. From a vantage point on the viewing platform 1,000 m up, enjoy a breathtaking vista of the towns of Lourdes, Tarbes and Pau, plus the valley of Argelès-Gazost and the Pyrenean peaks in the background.

The southern part of the Pyrenees

The Pont d'Espagne, the Marcadau valley and the Lake Gaube valley

Entering the Pyrenean National park gives you access to magnificent sites where nature is protected: countless lakes and waterfalls, especially those at Lutour and Cerisey.

The Cirque de Gavarnie

The spectacular cirques at Gavarnie, Troumouse and Estaubé, like the Brèche de Roland, are awe-inspiring natural wonders. At the foot of these giants, the Millaris Museum exhibits and explains aspects of Pyrenean life.

With the Spanish canyons as a backdrop, the cirque country clearly merits its inclusion in the UNESCO World Heritage List.  A spectacular natural and also cultural landscape, it bears witness to the way man has constantly adjusted to life in the mountain environment, and to the continued exchanges between the French and Spanish sides.  As for the spectacular – yet accessible – Cirque de Gavarnie, it becomes more impressive with each approaching step.

It is flanked by equally majestic neighbors:  Estaubé and Troumouse.


The Pic du Midi

The Pic du Midi has been attracting admirers for 130 years!  From its 2877-m summit, the Pyrenees spread out on either side in a wide-screen panorama and the beautiful surrounding landscapes earned the Pic du Midi its classification as a national site of nature in 2003.

The trip up by cable car from La Mongie, at the foot of the Col du Tourmalet, is a journey worth the tale in itself, taking you up to an altitude of 1000 m in 15 minutes. At the summit, the most beautiful panorama of the Pyrenees awaits you! From the landscaped terraces, you can see for 300 km! The site is also home to a museum of the Pic du Midi and its history, a restaurant featuring traditional cuisine and a souvenir shop.  

The high mountains are now within reach of the whole family and promise an unforgettable outing.

Lourdes & les Pyrénées

A Lourdes ...

La ville de Lourdes est située dans le département des Hautes-Pyrénées. Par sa situation, elle détient de véritables atouts pour découvrir les charmes et la beauté de cette magnifique région "hautement pyrénéenne".

Le château fort médiéval

Sur place vous pourrez découvrir le passé médiéval de Lourdes avec son château fort construit sur un promontoire rocheux au beau milieu de la ville et jamais vaincu ! Le château abrite un musée où l'on découvre l'histoire et la culture pyrénéenne ainsi qu'un jardin botanique.

Le Pic du Jer

Du haut de ses 1000m, le Pic du Jer vous offre l'un des plus beaux panoramas des Pyrénées. Vous y accédez en quelques minutes depuis le funiculaire centenaire. Une fois sur place, un belvédère vous fera découvrir une vue imprenable sur les villes de Lourdes - Tarbes et Pau ainsi que la vallée d'Argelès-Gazost et les pics pyrénéens.

... vers le sud les Pyrénées

Le pont d'Espagne, la vallée du Marcadau et la vallée du lac de Gaube

Aux portes du Parc National des Pyrénées, vous accédez à de magnifiques sites où la nature est protégée. De nombreux lacs et cascades sont également accessibles notamment celles du Lutour et du Cerisey.

Le Cirque de Gavarnie

Les cirques spectaculaires de Gavarnie, Troumouse et Estaubé, la Brèche de Roland, joyaux du patrimoine de l'humanité, sont des monuments d'émotions. A l'ombre de ces colosses, la vie pyrénéenne se donne à voir et à comprendre au musée Millaris.

Adossé aux canyons espagnols, le pays des criques justifie sans peine son inscription par l'UNESCO au patrimoine mondial de l'humanité. Paysage naturel - grandiose - mais aussi culturel, il témoigne de l'harmonieuse adaptation de l'homme aux reliefs montagnards et des échanges continus entre versants espagnols et français. Le géant Gavarnie ne ménage ni son effet - le spectacle est, à chaque pas, infiniment imposant -, ni son accessibilité. 

Il communie avec ses voisins tout aussi majestueux : Estaubé et Troumouse


Le Pic du Midi

Le pic du Midi, Pic d'attraction depuis 130 ans ! à 2877 m, les Pyrénées se déploient en cinémascope. La splendeur des paysages vaut au Pic du Midi d'être classé site naturel national depuis 2003.

L'ascension en téléphérique, au départ de La Mongie, au pied du Col du Tourmalet, est déjà un voyage : 1000 mètres de dénivelé franchis en 15mn. Au sommet, le plus beau panorama de la chaîne des Pyrénées ! Depuis les terrasses aménagées, le regard porte sur 300 km ! Le Pic du Midi c'est aussi un musée sur l'histoire du site, un restaurant de cuisine traditionnelle, une boutique de souvenirs.

La haute montagne est désormais accessible à toute la famille pour une excursion inoubliable.